#RaceDirectorBlog: Making it work

I thought it might be fun to have a blog about race directing.  I mean, people blog about being a mom, being a fitness instructor, being a teacher, being an athlete, etc etc….so why not add to the mix?  I am a minority in the field of race directing as a women in a male dominated world, and the struggle is absolutely real.  This is not a very easy job to have.  When I turned in my notice to Medic as their financial accountant, CEO Jim Decker asked me if my new job would be full time or part time.  My answer couldn’t be any more accurate: All the time.  But I make it work.

This is my second year as a Race Director and my 1st year as a USAT Certified Race Director.  I work for Endurance Sports Management primarily, but also do timing for Knoxville Track Club and am staff for Rev3 Triathlon.  I have assisted directed The Pistol Ultra this year and the Ozone Endurance last year.  This year I have taken on 6 sprint triathlons with ESM: The Double Dip Tri, Secret City Tri, Sweetwater Tri, Wild Rose Womens Tri, Redskin Romp, and North Knox Tri.  I am also directing 2 kids triathlons and my own addition, the Gulf Park Tri N Spike.  In addition to the tri’s I am directing a few 5k’s and an 8k.

It seems like a lot, and it is for a rookie like me! I find that its a feast or famine work load.  I also personal train, teach group fitness, and coach.  Group Fitness is my true love, but as I get older and my races that I participate in as an athlete get more serious, I can’t do as many.  I specialize in group training, which makes a lot of sense.  I also do corporate training for TeamHealth.  This is a new gig that I found back in early January.  I was extremely excited about what they were doing for their staff, just had to be a part of it.

So thats me, for now.  My life is pretty dynamic and not for the faint of heart.  This year my career in Race Directing is beginning to take off.  Its exciting to say the least, and somewhat overwhelming at certain times.  The good news is that I have great mentors.

Kevin Mahan, the owner and Race Director with ESM has let me follow him around for going on 4 years now.  When I first started working with him, most people told me he was an ass.  I believed them at first, but over the years I have seen that he is one of the most compassionate people under his tough Pennsylvania exterior. I joke, but wouldn’t know half as much as I do now had it not been for him!  Plus he knows a whole bunch and is very willing to share it with me. On race day, its tough to be personable when so much is going on around you.  Last year I found out I had a hater because they used a few moments of my personality on a race day when I was getting yelled at by Kevin during a heated moment.  Hey, it happens, but that’s why I’m writing this blog, to help you know what goes on!

Today we just got back from a re-launched triathlon in Goose Pond Colony, Alabama.  That will have to be a different post, because that was a very interesting weekend.  In 3 days I am heading to Quassy, CT for REV3 Quassy.  Since 2014 I have been the Local Volunteer Coordinator for the Knoxville race.  They were not able to come back to Ktown this year, which was disappointing although I understood.  I was super ecstatic when Jay Peluso, the National Race Director, asked me to come to 4 of the races to work.  I am anticipating having another busy but awesome weekend with people that love what they do.

I’ll close this one for now, but will come back soon! I want to keep it real for you and keep it in perspective.  I truly love what I do, even when people are rude, things don’t go right, or the weather doesn’t cooperate.  I am lucky to have a husband and daughter that understand; as well as friends that understand my lifestyle.  I can’t imagine my life being any different now.  Stay tuned for the next #RaceDirectorBlog! It will be all things Double Dip!

Leave a Reply

