#RaceDirectorBlog Double Dipped brains!

As I sit here in the Newark airport coming off an amazing weekend in Quassy, I am slowly waking up from my 3:30am abrupt wake up to catch a flight and shifting my thoughts to the next weekend again.  The Double Dip Triathlon is my first sprint tri to direct of the season.

This will be my first year with this triathlon.  Last year when I started directing ESM tris, I was already committed to the Ozone Endurance as Assistant Race Director. I have raced DDT a few times, and in 2011 it was my second ever triathlon when it was King of the Mountain.  For this year, Kevin and I decided to move it back a week so that I could take it off his plate and it not interfere with Ozone.  As life would have it, I ended up not being asked to be Assistant Race Director for Ozone, but instead took a position with the 4 Rev3 races starting with Quassy, CT for the same weekend as Ozone.  So all worked out beautifully, and I love it when that happens too! People joke about how many jobs I have, and how much I have going on, but mannnn do I love them all! I may be a little crazy at times, and my #racedayhair may look rough, but hopefully all things work out great!

As with all events, sometimes you need to change things up to make an impact and keep registrations flowing.  People don’t always like change, if I’ve learned nothing else in my short 29 years on this earth (hopefully a few things anyway), they will tell you right away if they don’t! Most of the time, change is good though….and this year I’m hoping it will work out that way.

Getting this race together was slightly challenging….starting with the application for the city.  Holy moly.  I am the type of person that wants to learn and do and be efficient i.e. control freak.  So I told Kevin I would take care of all the city business and venue business.  First order of business, filling out the city application and getting it approved.  Perfect, I can handle this.  I got in touch with the proper person who guided me through it.  Submitted application and even drove to Pigeon Forge to attend the meeting that I was told one of ESM staff HAD to be there (and they really didn’t, I looked slightly foolish but lesson learned).

And then after all that I got my approval! Yay! I was all set up for an event on June 4th…..wait….

CRAP!  I put the wrong dates on the application!  They were expecting an event on June 4th, not the 11th.  So I called the community center to request the change. “No dice Muna, we can’t do it on the weekend of the 11th.  It’s a really bad weekend for us as we are opening up the outdoor pool that weekend.”

Ok, its time to get desperate.

Jacob, the coordinator I was working with, seemed super nice and very willing to work with me.  He was excited that I was excited and we were all just excited together, but that doesn’t help me one bit.  So I do what I do best: asked why.  Why couldn’t we have this event on the 11th if we are out of the whole parking lot by 11am?

The answer I was given was the bathroom would be a mess and they may not have lifeguards on staff.  Oh I got this one! I’ll have my staff and vols clean the restrooms, no probs.  Oh, and we  have a lifeguard on staff (Thanks Danielle!).

YES….he said YES….

This kids is why you ask why when you don’t like an answer….unless its my answer and it that case my reason is because I said.

So I went back through the application process and got it approved….Whew! And next was logistics, planning, staff, volunteers, etc.  For the shirts, I wanted to do this year what I did last year for the sprints I directed and have the same style with different colors.  I feel like I sampled a million different tanks and shirts.  I finally found one I like! I hope it works out cause they’ll be at my house today! Edited to add: They just arrived!

The kicker to all of these events, is that life is going on around them.  As some of you know these past few months have been a whirlwind of emotions; bringing my handicapped niece home to live with us, starting a new job in a corporate office as a trainer, traveling a lot more with ESM and Rev3, and anything else you could think of may have happened. I wanted to take my RD career to the next level, and this year can certainly take that turn.  It feels like the biggest challenge is doing everything I have in my mind to do.  So I didn’t feel like I was able to do all the things with the sprints that I wanted to.  I really wanted to make it a fantasmic experience for all.

So when a friend messaged me that he really wanted to get in as a sponsor, I thought, Holy Cow of course! I had been calling a few businesses, but nothing like I wanted.  This friend helped me to get into a few other businesses as well and BAM, we have a whole sponsorship package.  What’s so great about it is that he told me the City of Pigeon Forge really wants to be a part of our event….and as it turns out, I really want them to be a part of our event! I haven’t said this out loud to but only a few people, but my goal is to make the Double Dip Triathlon a “destination race”.  This means that people will plan their getaway in Pigeon Forge and making my triathlon a part of it.  This can’t happen without the city being involved, so I think we are well on our way to the first step.  If you are doing the tri this weekend, you will be pleasantly surprised by some of your bonus swag!

And in proper true race director fashion, sitting down typing this blog took me a few days.  So here we are on Tuesday and the ball seems to be rolling….whether I want it to roll so fast or not! There was only one detail I didn’t have nailed down….Port o Potties! Did we need them? Crap I couldn’t remember.  So what does a girl do? Email Kevin! Duh! And the good news is, we have bathrooms there, and we can use them! My only request is that you leave them the way you found them when you have your morning pre race constitution.  Please;o)

This weekend is sure to be a load of fun, and I hope to see my friends come out.  They are the reason I do this fo sho.  I mean, giving people an exhilarating experience, an experience to write about, and experience to keep coming back to, to bring your family to, to take selfies with a finishline behind you or a group of friends! Hanging around Rev3 people has been inspirational to me from the first time I raced with them in Knoxville 2013 Oly, to the first time I worked as the Local Volunteer Coordinator, to this past weekend as registration & finish line person number 2.  Kevin has also helped me to see how to bring the business side to the table and make it fair to the vendors and participants.  There is a lot of wheels going around and the RD’s are supposed to bring it together.  That is my biggest challenge.  No longer only thinking as an athlete or as a volunteer or as a worker or coordinator.  I have to think as all of them put together.  Now that my friends is the toughest challenge!

So before the week gets away from me, let me close this out and call another potential sponsor!

#RaceDirectorBlog #RaceESM #DoubleDipTri2017 #PigeonForge

Leave a Reply

